Who’s News

BizAir Shuttle will provide daily flights between Carlsbad’s McClellan-Palomar Airport and Los Angeles International starting June 18. The flights fill a service void left by the April departure of United Airlines from the Carlsbad airport. BizAir Shuttle will begin with two daily round trip flights and expand to seven between Carlsbad and LAX. Flights to Las Vegas will be added in July and to Phoenix in August. Business and leisure passengers may purchase tickets at BizAirShuttle.com.

Aiko Lozar, a student at Aviara Oaks Middle School Middle School, Carlsbad, was honored as one of the brightest young students in the world at a regional awards ceremony for academically advanced children sponsored by the Johns Hopkins University Center for Talented Youth.

Boys & Girls Clubs of San Dieguito Foundation awarded the Leonard & Edith Polster Scholarships for 2015/2016 to 20 North County teens. Recipients include Oceanside High School’s Vin Sean Cheng, Asia Martin, Angel Ortiz, Domitila Santiago, and Jesse Zamarripa; from Sunset High School, Juan Sanchez; from El Camino High School Angel Armstead and Jesus Manzano; from San Dieguito Academy Lali Martinez Ibarra, Danny Salgado and Tomas Sandoval Aguilar; from La Costa Canyon High School Luis Baez, Carmen Bautista, Kimberly Cordova, Ana Galvan, Victoria Garcia, Jose Guerrero Olea and Abigail Rivera; Jose Esquer from Torrey Pines High School and Shane Coopersmith from Carlsbad High School.

Pacific Ridge junior Catherine Ames won “Best Actress” at the Southwest Region Ben Vereen Awards and will travel to New York City for the National High School Musical Theatre Awards against 60 of the nation’s top high school musical theatre talent for a shot at a Jimmy Award, $10,000 and a NYU Tisch School of the Arts scholarship. PRS senior Ben DeSoto Mayor placed in the top three males as a regional finalist.

Janelle Scheftner will become principal of Ada Harris Elementary School in July.  Scheftner comes from the La Mesa-Spring Valley School District. Current principal Brian Kissell will be relocating with his family to Bend, Oregon.

Two Canyon Crest Academy High School students, Gayla Hahn and Thea Hanson, were each presented with a $1,000 scholarship at the recent Dollars for Scholars awards ceremony at CCA by Kevin Cahill, founding President of the Del Mar-Solana Beach Rotary Club. Both students will be attending UC Berkeley this coming fall.

The Carlsbad Music Festival has added Kate Oberjat as managing director. An Oceanside High School alum, Oberjat was the Single Ticket Marketing Manager at the New York Philharmonic for the past three years, and is a professional opera singer. Rachel Beetz, a classically trained flutist will be production manager. Kevin Bender, born in Oceanside, now living in Carlsbad, is now development associate and Joe Cantrell, a sound artist, noise musician and technologist, will be marketing and communications associate.

Palomar College Director of Communications, Marketing and Public Affairs Laura Gropen was awarded the 2015 All PRO Award from the California Community College Public Relations Organization, naming her among the best in the business.

MiraCosta College students selected communications instructor Eric Robertson as 2015 Outstanding Tenured Faculty of the Year, history faculty member Veronica Bale as 2015 Outstanding Associate Faculty of the Year, and nursing instructional lab associate Denise Omitt as Outstanding Classified Staff Member of the Year