The Coast News Group

Soccer stars take BU12 championship

RANCHO SANTA FE — Fresh from winning Presidios AAA division, Coach Nate Hetherington’s RSF Attack BU12G boys participated in the 2009 AFC Gunners Cup.
The team won their pool with a 2-0-1 record braving wind and rain Nov. 28 in Temecula. For the semi-finals, the Attack boys faced a talented IUSC Brasil Urrutia but prevailed 1-0. The final saw a rematch from the team’s first game against the hosts, Arsenal FC B97. The Attack boys again came out on top 2-1 to secure the BU12 championship.
Team members include Justin Glaser, Marco Lezama, Ted Dhanens, Brandon Benitez, Cole Schmitz, Dayne Michael, Lucas Perry, Cameron Burnett, Luke Hazel, Jake Hobbick, Cole Tierney, Will Caples, Michael Dempsey, Milo Barton and Tristan Woodward.