The Coast News Group
CommunityNewsOld - DO NOT USE - Community

North County students honored with scholarships

ENCINITAS — A host of scholarships have been awarded to North County high school graduates through the nonprofit Coastal Community Foundation.

Recipients of the Bill Berrier education scholarship include Joleen Hsu, Torrey Pines High School; Jenna Golden, Canyon Crest High School; Jennifer Cady, La Costa Canyon High School, and Emily Ross, San Dieguito Academy. Berrier was superintendent of the San Dieguito Union High School District for 30 years.

The Joe W. Chavez education awards for medicine and government are in honor of Chavez who worked to improve the living conditions for the Eastside community of Oceanside in the late 1940s. This year’s recipients are DoWon Kim, Torrey Pines High School; Cassidy Mayeda, San Dieguito Academy; Catherine Wu and Davina Moossazadeh, both of Canyon Crest High School; Henry Gardner, Carlsbad High School; Laura Leon, Oceanside High School, and Katrina Diaz, Ocean Shores High School.

Receiving the Langdon/Monzeglio award for artists are Emily Lailotis and Stephen Ai, both from Canyon Crest High School. This fund is in honor of Eric Scott Langdon and Diana Monzeglio who both died young.

Students who plan to study nursing, psychology or special education are eligible for the Jackie  Harrigan Haase award. Haase worked as a nurse in health services and special ed for the San Dieguito High School District. The awards go to Sarah Bhattacharjee, Torrey Pines High School and Daniela Carreon, La Costa Canyon High School.

The Steve G. Ma Scholarship award goes to a first- or second-generation graduating senior who plans to attend a California Community College. Ma continued his public education career in the community college level and the recipient this year is Rigo Mejia of Torrey Pines High School.

An additional education scholarship award goes to Alynee Powers, San Dieguito Academy from the Deanne Rich trustee award. Rich was a trustee for the San Dieguito Union High School District.

An award for a student planning to study  architecture, construction, public administration or public finance was given to Sergio Ochoa Farias, El Camino High School, from the Eric Hall scholarship. Hall was an associate superintendent of the San Dieguito Union High School District.

Two students from Sunset High School, Stephen Lovette and Kirra Sarquilla, have received the Roy Risner  Scholarship. Risner was principal of Sunset High School.

The Jay  Penacho scholarship award provides intensive training at a summer wrestling camp  for this year’s candidate, Todd Chappuis, La Costa Canyon High School.