The Coast News Group

Meet Escondido’s ‘Forever Legends’

ESCONDIDO —The Future Legends Awards Group (FLAG) is pleased to introduce nominees for the Forever Legend award created by the Escondido History Center, with a $10,000 sponsorship from the Rincon Band of Luiseño Indians for 2019.
The FLAG committee wants to introduce all nine residents being honored with the Forever Legend award, leading up to the award presentation in an October 2019 ceremony. Each Forever Legend will have a $1,000 honorarium given in their name to students from nine different high schools in October.
Meet Shannon MacMillan, who is not only an Escondido Forever Legend, but also very active with soccer in the coastal area. MacMillan has been selected as one of nine 2019 Escondido Forever Legends by the Escondido History Center. One senior from a high school in Escondido will receive the FLAG award in MacMillan’s name and be presented a $1,000 honorarium.
MacMillan is likely the most celebrated athlete to graduate from an Escondido high school. After graduating from San Pasqual High School in 1992 and being named the San Diego County Female Athlete of the Year, she was a four-year All American and on the Dean’s List at Portland University. In 1995, she received the MAC Award and Hermann Award (Soccer’s version of the Heisman Trophy).
In a 12-year International Soccer career, MacMillan scored scoring 60 goals in 176 games. She retired in 2005 and still ranks ninth in career goals and assists. A few moments stand out. In the 1996 Olympics, she scored the extra time goal to beat Norway and scored one goal against China to have the United States Women’s Soccer team win the Gold Medal. In 1999 MacMillan was a member of the United States World Cup Championship team, and in 2002 was named the United States Soccer Female Athlete of the Year.
For all the accomplishments in Women’s Soccer and her continuing leadership role, MacMillan has been inducted into the San Pasqual High School Hall of Fame, the San Diego Breitbard Hall of Fame, the University of Portland Hall of Fame, the West Coast Conference Hall of Fame, the Oregon Hall of Fame and in 2016, the United States National Soccer Hall of Fame.