The Coast News Group
Encinitas council races
CitiesDel MarElections 2022NewsSan DiegoSan MarcosSolana BeachSolana Beach Featured

Local races taking shape in Solana Beach, Del Mar, San Marcos

REGION — The San Diego Registrar of Voters has nearly finalized the list of candidates for local races in the Nov. 8 general election. 

The filing period in many cities, including Del Mar, Solana Beach, Encinitas and San Marcos, closed Aug. 12. In races where no incumbent filed their paperwork, the deadline was extended to Aug. 17.

In the city of Del Mar, incumbent Councilwoman Terry Gaasterland and incumbent Mayor Dwight Worden will both appear on the ballot in a bid for their open seats. They are challenged by Stephen Quirk, a local business owner and the identical twin brother of Councilman Dan Quirk, for a seat on the council.

Solana Beach voters will see incumbent Councilwoman Kristi Becker challenged by Kristin Brinner to be the city’s first District 2 representative.

Jill MacDonald is the sole candidate running to be Solana Beach’s first-ever District 4 representative. Incumbent Councilwoman Kelly Harless, who currently serves in an at-large capacity,  is unable to run as she does not live within the boundaries of District 4. 

In the San Dieguito Union School District, Rimga Viskanta is the sole certified candidate for the board of trustees’ Area 1 seat after incumbent Trustee Maureen “Mo” Muir announced her withdrawal from the race on Aug. 11. The deadline for candidates to file for this race has been extended to Aug. 17, with David Carratini pulling papers as of Aug. 15 but remaining uncertified as of Tuesday.Laura

Jane Lea Smith and Sheila King are both certified candidates for San Dieguito’s vacant Area 3 trustee seat. In the Area 5 race, incumbent Julie Bronstein has been certified along with challengers Phan Anderson and Georgia Ringler.

In the Del Mar Union School District board of trustees race, incumbents Katherine Fitzpatrick, Doug Rafner and Scott Wooden will face challengers Cinda Peck, William Porter, Danielle Roybal and Maniza Sheikhani in November. 

Solana Beach School District trustees Debra Schade and Vicky King are both officially seeking reelection to their Area 1 and Area 3 seats, respectively, with no filings from challengers. 


In the city of San Marcos, incumbent Mayor Rebecca Jones will face off against District 2 Councilman Randy Walton for the at-large mayor’s seat in November. Incumbent Councilwoman Maria Nuñez is the sole candidate for her District 1 seat. 

Four candidates have been certified in the race for the District 2 seat — Lionel Saulberry, Jay Petrek, Mike Sannella and Ambreem Ahmed. 

Trustee Stacy Carlson, representing Area E on the San Marcos Unified School District board, will seek reelection in the fall against challenger Sheryl Cavellier. Stephanie Carroll and Andres Ramos Martin have both qualified for the ballot in the Area C trustee race, with no filing from Area C incumbent Trustee Sydney Kerr. 

On the Palomar College Governing Board, Area 5 incumbent Trustee Norma Miyamoto will seek reelection along with Area 4 incumbent Kartik Raju, who will also face off against challenger Michelle Rains.

Frank Xu and Judy Patacsil are certified candidates for the Area 1 trustee race, with incumbent Trustee Mark Evilsizer announcing his intention to retire. 

A full list of candidates who have filed for school board and community college district races is available at Information about candidates for city council races is available via the city clerk.