The Coast News Group
NewsOld - DO NOT USE - The Coast NewsRancho Santa Fe

Club honors community members

VISTA — The Boys & Girls Club of Vista held its annual Board of Directors Award at the Vista Entertainment Center banquet room July 2.
Special guests included Vista City Council members Judy Ritter and Steve Gronke.
New officers were installed, includind President Victoria Waufle, President Elect Mac Ghaderpanah, Vice President Sal Cirincione, Past President Paul Eckert, Treasurer Peter Marquart, Secretary Sarah Holt and Director At Large Howard Amend.
The John Cosh Award, the highest achievement at the Boys & Girls Club of Vista, was awarded to Mac Ghaderpanah of Tasker’s Automotive. Ghaderpanah, a former club president, currently serves the Boys & Girls Club as well, the Boys & Girls Club Foundation, as well as the Executive Committee, Personnel Committee, and Board Development Committee. He was honored for his exceptional work at marketing the club in the business community.
The Board MVP was awarded to Timmi Ryerson. Ryerson helped boost the club’s total membership by 152 Club members as well as helped strengthen club’s ties with the Vista Unified School District. She also helped the club receive new computers and Successmaker software for the technology center.
The club service award went to Nestle USA’s Vice President of Community Affairs/Educational Programs, Kenneth Bentley. Bentley provided approximately 125 employees across the U.S. to complete a massive 1-day facility overhaul. Nestle USA helped the Boys & Girls Club of Vista by providing new games room equipment, bathroom renovation, snack bar, storage, as well as scholarships for a 3-day Lebron James basketball camp UC-San Diego. The total donated value was over $50,000.
Paul Campo was also awarded with a club service award. Campo, a local Vista attorney, updated and revised the Boys & Girls Club of Vista and Boys & Girls Club of Vista’s Foundation by-laws and articles of incorporation with in-kind services.
The Boys & Girls Club’s Board Rookie of the Year was awarded to Sarah Holt of US Bank. She assisted the club on the Finance Committee, Special Events and Resource Development Committees.
Paul Eckert was honored for serving two years as club president and leading the One Campaign, Oktoberfest and Facility Committee.