The Coast News Group
NewsOld - DO NOT USE - The Coast NewsRancho Santa Fe

5 named to fair board, 2 dismissed

DEL MAR — Gov. Jerry Brown Aug. 26 named five new members to the
22nd District Agricultural Association board of directors and removed two others.
Directors are appointed to the nine-member panel by the governor for four-year terms.
They receive no pay, but the benefits include free parking and admission to fairgrounds events.
On June 9, the day before the opening of this year’s San Diego County Fair, board President Barry Nussbaum, Kelly Burt and Vivian Hardage were told they had been dismissed from their positions.
Burt’s term expired January 2010, while the terms of Nussbaum and Hardage were up January 2011.
Nussbaum was appointed by former Gov. Gray Davis in 1999 and reappointed by former Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger, who also named Hardage and Burt to the board.
Schwarzenegger appointees Kim Fletcher and Ann Davies, whose terms expired in 2009 and 2010, respectively, were not reappointed by Brown.
New members are Lisa Barkett, Tom Chino, David Lizerbram, Frederick Schenk and David Watson.
Barkett, 52, of La Jolla, is returning to the 22nd DAA. She was appointed by Davis but later replaced by Fletcher. She has been vice president of Merjan Financial Corporation since 1989.
Chino, 62, of Del Mar, has been president of Chino Nojo Inc. since 1982.
Lizerbram, 35, of San Diego, has been principal at David Lizerbram & Associates since 2005.
He was previously an attorney at McColloch and Campitiello LLP and the Law Offices of Roslyn Soudry.
Schenk, 57, of San Diego, has been a partner at Casey Gerry Schenk Francavilla Blatt and Penfield since 1983. He also previous served on the 22nd DAA board.
Watson, 54, of Chula Vista, has been a partner at Duane Morris since 2010.
He was previously a partner at Hecht Solberg Robinson Goldberg and Bagley from 2008 to 2010 and from 2002 to 2006. He was vice president of Yokohl Ranch Company LLC from 2006 to 2008 and an attorney at Gray Cary Ware and Freidenrich from 1988 to 2002.
Three of the new directors are registered Democrats. Chino and Lizerbaum are listed as declined to state.
The terms of current board members Michael Alpert and Russ Penniman were up in 2009 and 2010, respectively, while the terms of current board President Adam Day and Board Member Ruben Barrales won’t expire until January 2012.