MTF names Youth Sportsmanship award winners

MTF names Youth Sportsmanship award winners
From left, Matthew Thorp, brother of Mitchell, with La Costa Youth Baseball Organization (LYCO) President Phil Urbina congratulate award-winners Kyle Anderson and Alex Rendler, joined by Beth Thorp, and fellow award-winners Henry Scott and Noah Whitney with incoming LCYO President Ed White. MTF is a locally-based, 501 (c) (3) non-profit organization that supports families whose children suffer from life-threatening illnesses, diseases and disorders. Photo courtesy of Brad and Beth Thorp

CARLSBAD — Four area baseball league players, from the La Costa Youth Baseball Organization (LYCO), ages 9 through 14, were recently presented with the 2012 annual Mitchell Thorp Foundation (MTF) Youth Sportsmanship awards.The awards recognize a strong passion for the game of baseball, a willingness to help others; being a solid, supportive teammate and having achieved high academics and community service during the year.

MTF donates funds, generated through fundraisers held during the year, to support the sportsmanship awards and also in providing grants to the league for those who can’t afford to pay to play. MTF was founded by Beth and Brad Thorp, in honor of their son, Mitchell, an avid youth baseball player, who passed away in 2009 from an undiagnosed illness.



Filed Under: News


RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Leave a Reply

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.